A standing army is like an erect member: while it provides for domestic tranquility, it provides a temptation for foreign adventures

From the excellent Stand Up Economist.

Seriously though, who needs an army?

More specifically, do we?

My friend justifies her friend's career choice by 'Someone's gotta do it.'

I disagree.

Any country big enough to actually threaten Britain wouldn't be so stupid. The economies of major nations are so intertwined, their politics so delicate, that it just won't happen. The only reason I could see any major nation declaring war on us is the same reason a whole load twice declared war on Germany in the twentieth century: because we're too bloody aggressive and it's getting silly. What have we used our army for in the past fifty years? Mugging middle eastern countries, out-cocking Argentina, playing chess with China, Russia and the USA in Africa... we don't *need* to do this shit. It just makes us look like arseholes. We could just behave like grown ups and stop bullying everyone, like everyone else in Europe (bar the half a dozen spaniards who promised that they would come to the middle east, maybe after lunch).

So we don't really need an army, except maybe as a deterrent.

Which brings us onto the main point. Why should we 'support our troops'?

These are not conscripted soldiers fighting to save their families from an invading force: these are people who chose a career of travelling to other countries to massacre the locals with our vastly superior weaponry (we know it's superior 'cos we sold them theirs when we made this new stuff). They have chosen a life of killing. There is no necessity in this, and thus no bravery. They are subjecting their families, friends, lovers to anguish and worry so that they can go play hubristic soldiers and pretend they are brave. Well fuck them. Do you know what's braver? Resisting. We all have that urge to go be a big cock, to live a hero or die quickly with honour. Fuck that. Do something constructive. Improve the world. Don't just kill people and say it's justified by the colour of your flag or the name of your god. Fuck you.

Yes, I am once again in sanctimonious twat mode.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Labels

animals (1) art (1) blogs (2) class (2) comedy (11) economics (4) equality (2) facts (1) feminism (8) football (2) fox news (2) friends (1) globalisation (1) grass (1) history (1) homophobia (4) human nature (1) hypocrisy (1) immigration (1) income (1) Jon Stewart (1) kids (1) language (3) life (1) literature (1) love (2) marketing (3) masculinity (2) morality (10) music (9) narrative (2) news (2) nonsense (1) oppression (5) patriarchy (3) philosophy (18) poetry (11) politics (29) porn (1) prejudice (2) prose (3) prostitution (2) quotes (1) racism (3) redistribution (1) rights (1) satire (1) science (2) sex (3) stephen fry (1) stories (7) twitter (1) vetiver (1) video (2) war (1) wealth (1)