Pride and Prejudice: Sort of like the heap problem, but in reverse
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/bailout-money-is-flowing-abroad-1644887.html

The British State has a hole in it's pocket and those last few pennies are burning it. Quickly! Quickly! Take them!

What the f*ck are we doing?

The british economy is screwed, mostly because there hasn't been such a thing as british industry in twenty years. We've been living off foreign confidence, which has shattered. Let's be clear: britain has nothing to sell. We used to have a brand and a very strong currency, now all we have is lit grads who want to be 'creative' (and were too busy not doing their GCSE revision to notice the 2001 mini-crash that has already crushed their dreams). Brown, Darling and King are desperately trying to reinflate the souffle of our economy but it's not going to happen because that is not the 'real' level of the british economy. We're going to find out what the 'real' level is over the next few years as the go-lightlys go elsewhere.

This is a plea to the three mentioned above: STOP THROWING THE F*CKING MONEY AWAY!!! It's like watching that Steve Coogan show about the gambling addict. Britain won big year on year, kept making money no matter what it did, now it's run out of luck and raiding the family savings to throw on the 4.15 cos we know we can get it back, we can get it all back and more, if only our luck would change.

STOP IT!!! While we've still got anything left! We should spend, I agree. For one thing we might as well use the last of our money while anyone's still willing to accept it. We should not, however, keep throwing it at the city. It's as if someone's pulled the plug from Alistair Downing's bath and he's turned both taps on full in the desperate hope of blocking the drain. I don't know if you've ever seen those charity donation bins where you put in a 2p coin and it spirals round and round until it eventually drops into the collection bin. Rumour has it Mr Darling once put £400 into one shouting 'it'll have to clog eventually, it's only a finite space!'. All for a good cause though, so nevermind.

We should be spending this money on long term investments for the protection of the weaker/poorer members of our country (the one's that pay or have paid tax, not the non-domeciles who own all the businesses and are the only one's that ever profit from the city. The casino owners, metaphorically). It should be spent on things like lagging peoples' lofts. That's the kind of thing Obama's doing: spending money that creates jobs and improves the lives of the people most vulnerable to economic contraction.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Labels

animals (1) art (1) blogs (2) class (2) comedy (11) economics (4) equality (2) facts (1) feminism (8) football (2) fox news (2) friends (1) globalisation (1) grass (1) history (1) homophobia (4) human nature (1) hypocrisy (1) immigration (1) income (1) Jon Stewart (1) kids (1) language (3) life (1) literature (1) love (2) marketing (3) masculinity (2) morality (10) music (9) narrative (2) news (2) nonsense (1) oppression (5) patriarchy (3) philosophy (18) poetry (11) politics (29) porn (1) prejudice (2) prose (3) prostitution (2) quotes (1) racism (3) redistribution (1) rights (1) satire (1) science (2) sex (3) stephen fry (1) stories (7) twitter (1) vetiver (1) video (2) war (1) wealth (1)